Rules for my (Future) Daughter

I know, I know. It’s been quite a while since my last post and I’m not sure anyone out there on the interwebs even reads these things but here goes.

The older I get the more I think about getting married, having kids and what that all entails. I’m not one of those marriage obsessed girls or anything but lately it seems like all of my friends are getting married or having babies. I’m excited to, someday, have a brood of my own and a companion to share it ALL with (that’s to say someone will even want to do this crazy thing called life with me). Who knows though, I may look back at this post in 10 years, still un-married and laugh because I’m alone living on a farm and registered on farmersonly.com, but I digress, and am going on a depressing tangent.

I’ve been thinking a lot about having kids and how I’d choose to raise them, morals and values, even eating habits. If I have a daughter there are some lessons I’ve learned that I’d like to “teach” her, here they are:

*note: these will be added upon and possibly edited as they come!

1. Never get too comfortable. Never get too lazy once you’ve acquired a job, this means, keep working hard because you’ve got dignity and a reputation to uphold. Doesn’t matter what you’re career is, always work hard and take pride in your work. I’ve had some great jobs so far and as a past-slacker it’s hard not to question why I still don’t hold some of those jobs. Either way, work hard to keep the job and your good reputation afloat. Plus flattery is always nice.
On another note, never get too comfortable in a relationship. This means not letting yourself go physically and ALWAYS treating your partner just the way you did when you fell in love with them. Put on a little makeup, tell them why you fell for them, speak kind words to them, make sure they feel loved and cared for and above all else, always communicate!!!
And most importantly, never get too comfortable with where your life is. Good is good but great is even better. Always chase your dreams and explore life’s bounties. There’s always something beautiful to discover; whether it’s a person, a place, a song or a bit of art. Life has beautiful, unexpected surprises waiting for you!

Leave a Reply

